Le monde francophone
 

Guide For Authors: Reviews of Books, Films, and Teaching Materials

  1. Reviewers should contact the appropriate Review Editor before writing a review (Editors). This is necessary in order to check if the work being considered for review meets our editorial guidelines, and if it has not already been assigned to another reviewer.
  2. Maximum length of reviews: 500 words (absolute!). The review heading, as well as the reviewer’s name and university affiliation are not included in the word count. For double reviews, the maximum length is 700 words. The French Review does not publish triple reviews. Reviewers who wish to review three books or more in a single text are invited to submit a full-length Review-Essay. The body of the review must be in one single paragraph. There are no extracts (or indented block quotes) in a review, which means that no single quote can be longer than 40 words. [Sample Review]
  3. The review heading should be double-spaced, with a hanging indent (0.5”). The name(s) of the author(s) should be in small caps. For edited works in French, use the standardized abbreviation éd. to replace such phrases as “Édition établie et annotée par...” or “Sous la direction de...” For edited works in English, use ed. or eds. For names of publishers, omit words such as “Éditions,” “Éditeur,” or “Press.” For university presses, use the standardized abbreviations: UP / PU.
    Examples:

    Bjørnstad, Hall. Créature sans créateur: pour une anthropologie baroque dans les Pensées de Pascal. Québec: PU de Laval, 2010. ISBN 978-2-7637-9072-5. Pp. xii + 201. $30 Can.

    Crouzet, Michel.Stendhal et l’Amérique: l’Amérique et la modernité. Paris: Fallois, 2008. ISBN 978-2-87706-642-6. Pp. 282. 25 €.

    El Ouadili, Raja.La vierge dans la cité. Montréal: Guy Saint-Jean, 2009. ISBN 978-2-89455-054-0. Pp. 218. $22,95 Can.

    Gafaïti, Hafid, Patricia M.E. Lorcin, and David G. Troyansky, eds. Transnational Spaces and Identities in the Francophone World. Lincoln: UP of Nebraska, 2009. ISBN 978-0-8032-4428-8. Pp. xxvi + 460. $40.

    Gallouët, Catherine, David Diop, Michèle Bocquillon,et Gérard Lahouati, éd. L’Afrique du siècle des Lumières: savoirs et représentations. Oxford: Voltaire Foundation, 2009. ISBN 978-0-7294-0959-9. Pp. 307. $100.

    Gervais, Gaétan, et Jean-Pierre Pichette, éd. Dictionnaire des écrits de l’Ontario français 1613–1993. Ottawa: PU d’Ottawa, 2010. ISBN 978-2-7603-0757-5. Pp. xxxiv + 1097. $59,95 Can.

    Le Gras, Gwénaëlle. Michel Simon: l’art de la disgrâce. Paris: Scope, 2010. ISBN 978-2-912573-52-0. Pp. 128. 19 €.

    Vessels, Joel E. Drawing France: French Comics and the Republic. Jackson: UP of Mississippi, 2010. ISBN 978-1-60473-444-7. Pp. 305. $50.

    For a film review, use the following format:

    Jeunet, Jean-Pierre, réal. Micmacs à tire-larigot. Int. Dany Boon, André Dussollier, Jean-Pierre Marielle, Yolande Moreau. Epithète, 2009.

  4. The reviewer’s contact info and the review’s word count must appear at the top left corner of the first page of the review:
    • Name
    • Address
    • email
    • word count
    This is the only part of the review that is single-spaced. Everything else should be double-spaced. Leave at least one blank line between this section and the review heading.
  5. We do not publish reviews of books whose subject matter lies outside the field of French and Francophone Studies. We do not publish reviews of tourist guides, cookbooks, children’s books, or other publications unrelated to our field. We do not normally review books that are self-published or published by a vanity press. We normally review only works published in their original language, not translations (rare exceptions might be made, for example in the case of bilingual works). We do not normally publish reviews of second editions of a work unless there have been major revisions, but we make an exception for second and later editions of textbooks. We do publish reviews of revised textbooks because our readers have a professional interest in them.
  6. Reviewers should take note of the following recommendations: a) A review should not begin with a repetition of the information (title, author, publisher) that is found in the review heading. b) Use quotes sparingly and for illustrative purposes, not for remplissage. Never begin a review with a quote. c) Avoid flattery: praising the author as, for instance, an "eminent scholar" is out of place in an analytical review. Conversely, avoid ad hominem attacks. The tone of the review should remain professional. d) The French Review does not encourage reviews that are simply a chapter-by-chapter description of the text. A review should provide a critical analysis of the work, and of its potential value to its target audience.